



March - 12

NATIONAL

Samvedna

- ✤ A Multilateral Air Force exercise named 'Samvedna' was conducted in India.
- The exercise was spearheaded by Indian Air Force and Southern Air Command (SAC).
- Samvedna, which means 'Empathy', is the first composite HADR (High Availability Disaster Recovery) Air exercise in the South Asian region.
- It involved representatives from Air Forces of Srilanka, Bangladesh, Nepal and UAE.
- It focused on practicing Air Force centric HADR solutions in a Multinational cooperative Disaster Management environment.
- ✤ It was conducted to ensure better understanding and sharing of response procedures between a number of friendly neighbouring nations.

INTERNATIONAL

China – Extension of Tenure of President

- China has passed a historic constitutional amendment to formally remove the term limits to enable President Xi to stay on as the Chinese president beyond 2023.
- China's national legislature incorporated President Xi Jinping's thought on 'Socialism with Chinese Characteristics for a New Era', in the country's constitution.
- The limit on the presidency was introduced by former Chinese President Deng Xiaoping in 1982.
- In china the tenure of presidency is five years.
- One can be a president for china for 2 times only i.e. 10 years.
- In addition to removing the term limits, decision has been taken for the establishment of a new anti-graft super agency in China, called the National Supervisory Commission.





The overarching body will extend the powers of the party's graft watchdog to police all public employees, from officials and managers of state-owned enterprises to teachers, doctors and journalists.

Genocide Day

- Bangladesh will observe a one-minute 'blackout' on March 25 to mark 'Genocide Day', in memory of the three million people killed by Pakistani forces during the country's Liberation War in 1971.
- ♦ Bangladesh started observing March 25 as 'Genocide Day' in 2017.

Crime free zone

- The director generals of the Border Security Force (BSF) and Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB) declared an 8.3 km stretch of the Indo-Bangladesh border as a 'crime-free zone'.
- The stretch falls between the border outpost of Gunarmath and Kalyani of the BSF and Putkhali and Daulatpur of the BGB.



Both border guarding forces with the help of the civil administrations of the two countries, NGOs and the local population will help in ensuring that no crime takes place along the stretch.





STATES

MGNREGA ranking

- West Bengal has become the best performing State both in terms of allotting jobs and utilising funds under the Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (MGNREGA).
- Tamil Nadu has occupied the second rank.

Top performers		
State	Work days (Cr.)	Fund spent (Cr.)
West Bengal	28.21	7,335.31
Tamil Nadu	22.17	5,981.75
Andhra Pradesh	18.16	5,054.17

Source: Manas Ranjan Bhunia

✤ Goa is ranked at the bottom of the list.

PERSONALITIES, AWARDS AND EVENTS

ITB – Berlin

- ✤ India has won the Best Exhibitor Award at ITB Berlin.
- ✤ The ITB Berlin (Internationale Tourismus Börse) is the world's largest tourism trade fair.
- India was represented by Tourism Minister K.J.Alphons along with Ministry officials.
- India's Incredible India presented a short film named "Yogi of the Racetrack " in the meet.





SPORTS

Sultan Azlan Shah Cup hockey

 Australia defeated England 2-1 in the final to lift their 10th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup title.



- ✤ Argentina claimed the bronze medal with a 3-2 win over Malaysia.
- Asian champions India finished a disappointing fifth after beating Ireland 4-1.

Sultan Azlan Shah Cup

- The Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, which began in 1983, is an annual international men's field hockey tournament held in Malaysia.
- The tournament is named after the ninth Yang di-Pertuan Agong (King) of Malaysia, Sultan Azlan Shah, an avid fan of field hockey.

Hero Indian Open

- ✤ Matt Wallace becomes the first Englishman to win the \$1.75 million Hero Indian Open title.
- Shubhankar Sharma of India finished in seventh position.
- India failed to retain the trophy for the first time in four years after SSP Chawrasia won it twice in 2016 and 2017 and Anirban Lahiri bagged it in 2015.






