June 13, 20197 days 00
  • One of India’s leading contemporary English writers, Amitav Ghosh has been honoured with 2018 Jnanpith Award for his outstanding contribution towards literature.
  • This award was given by Gopala Krishna Gandhi.

  • He has earlier won the Sahitya Akademi Award for his novel The Shadow Lines (1988).
  • The Glass Palace, The Hungry Tide and Ibis Trilogy of “Sea of Poppies” are some of his other famous works.
About Jnanpith
  • Jnanpith is conferred by literary and research organization Bhartiya Jnanpith.
  • It was founded in 1944 by Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain.
  • The first Jnanpith award was given in 1965 to G. Sankara Kurup (Malayalam).
  • This annual award is bestowed only on Indian writers writing in Indian languages included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India and English.
  • Other awards given by the organisation include Moortidevi Award and Navlekhan Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

two × one =