TNPSC Thervupettagam

15th BIMSTEC Ministerial meeting: Kathmandu, Nepal

August 12 , 2017 2503 days 1270 0
  • The 15th BIMSTEC ministerial meeting was held in Kathmandu, Nepal on 11 August.
  • The 18th session of the BIMSTEC Senior Officials’ Meeting (SOM) was held after this meeting.
  • Bay of Bengal Initiatives for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) is the sub-regional grouping comprising seven countries of South Asia and South East Asia. These are: Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Bhutan and Nepal.
  • On 6 June 1997, a new sub-regional grouping was formed in Bangkok and given the name BIST-EC (Bangladesh, India, Sri Lanka, and Thailand Economic Cooperation). Later Myanmar and Nepal joined this group, after which the organisation was renamed as BIMSTEC
  • Nepal is the current Chair of the BIMSTEC. Its Secretariat is located in Dhaka.

Leave a Reply

Your Comment is awaiting moderation.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *