TNPSC Thervupettagam

22nd Law Commission

November 12 , 2022 474 days 493 0
  • After two and a half years, the 22nd Law Commission of India has been constituted with Justice (retd) Rituraj Awasthi as its head.
  • Justice Awasthi took over as CJ of the Karnataka High Court in October 2021, and retired in July this year.
  • He headed the Bench that upheld the state government’s restriction on women and girls wearing the hijab in educational institutions.
  • Law Commission of India is a non-statutory body that is constituted by a notification of the Government of India.
  • The Law Commission was first constituted in 1955, and has so far submitted 277 reports.
  • The tenure of the 21st Law Commission, which was headed by former Supreme Court judge Justice B S Chauhan, came to an end on August 31 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your Comment is awaiting moderation.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *