TNPSC Thervupettagam

8th Mekong – Ganga Cooperation (MGC) Ministerial Meeting: Manila, Philippines

August 9 , 2017 2506 days 1498 0
• 8th Mekong – Ganga Cooperation (MGC) Ministerial Meeting was held at Manila, Philippines. • MGC countries have proposed to add newer areas of cooperation to the traditional areas on tourism, culture, education, transport and communication to further deepen mutually beneficial partnership and cooperation. • The Mekong–Ganga Cooperation (MGC) was established on November 10, 2000, at Vientiane, Laos at the First MGC Ministerial Meeting. It comprises six member countries, namely India, Thailand, Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam. The five areas of cooperation are tourism, culture, education, and transportation and communication. The organization takes its name from the Ganga and the Mekong, two large rivers in the region. • The working mechanism for MGC consists of the Annual Ministerial Meeting (back to back with ASEAN Ministerial Meeting), the Senior Official’s Meeting, and the five Working Groups namely; 1. Working Group on Tourism (Thailand is the lead country) 2. Working Group on Education (HRD) (India is the lead country) 3. Working Group on Culture (Cambodia is the lead country) 4. Working Group on Communication & Transportation (Laos PDR is the lead country) 5. Working Group on Plan of Actions (Vietnam is the lead country)

Leave a Reply

Your Comment is awaiting moderation.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *