TNPSC Thervupettagam

Bharat Ratna - Karpoori Thakur

January 26 , 2024 85 days 389 0
  • Karpoori Thakur, the former Chief Minister of Bihar, was chosen for the country's highest civilian award Bharat Ratna (posthumously).
  • He participated in the freedom struggle and was also jailed for it.
  • In independent India, he was voted in as an MLA in 1952.
  • When he first became an MLA in 1952, he was selected for an official delegation to Austria.
  • He remained an MLA till his death in 1988, except when he became an MP in 1977 and when he lost an Assembly election in 1984.
  • Thakur was education minister of Bihar from March 5 1967 to January 28, 1968.
  • He became the state’s chief minister in December 1970 with the Samyukta Socialist Party, but his government fell after six months.
  • He came to the post again in June 1977, but could not finish a full term, losing power in about two years.
  • In June 1970, the Bihar government appointed the Mungeri Lal Commission.
  •  Its report of February 1976 named 128 “backward” communities, 94 of which were identified as “most backward”.
  • Thakur government implemented the recommendations of the Commission.
  • The ‘Karpoori Thakur Formula’ provided 26% reservation.
  • Of which OBCs got a 12% share, the economically backward classes among the OBCs got 8%, women got 3%, and the poor from the “upper castes” got 3%.
  • Due to this his government fell, and he witnessed major opposition from upper castes.

Leave a Reply

Your Comment is awaiting moderation.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *