TNPSC Thervupettagam

Union Government reconstitutes six Committees of Cabinet

September 12 , 2017 2502 days 1413 0
  • The Union Government reconstituted six Committees of the Cabinet after recent ministry reshuffle.
  • Under the Government of India Transaction of Business Rules (TBR), 1961 the Cabinet Committees are formed. They are not mentioned in the Constitution. To reduce the workload of the government these committees were formed.
  • Railway Minister Piyush Goyal and Dharmendra Pradhan were included as permanent members of the Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA).
  At present six committees of Cabinet are there. They are as follows: Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) - It is responsible for all appointments of higher ranks in the Central Secretariat, Public Enterprises, Public Enterprises and Financial Institutions. Cabinet Committee on Accommodation (CCA) - It is responsible for the allotment of accommodation for various top positions in the Government of India. Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA)- It deals with the activities pertaining to the economics of the country. Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs (CCPA) - It looks into the matters related to the progress of government business in the Parliament of India. Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) - It is one of the most important committees in India, it looks into the matters of defence expenditures and National Security. Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs -  It is the most powerful committee in India. It takes important decisions of the country.
  • All Committees of Cabinet except Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs (CCPA) is chaired by Prime Minister. CCPA is headed by Union Home Minister.

Leave a Reply

Your Comment is awaiting moderation.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *