Vote on the appointment of the Independent Expert

July 13, 20193 days 00
  • India abstained at the vote for extending the mandate of an important U.N. official who reports on violence and discrimination against sexual minorities.
  • This Resolution aimed to grant an extension of three years to the Independent Expert to carry on reporting on incidents of violence against the LGBTQ community all over the world.
  • The resolution received support from most of the member countries at the Human Rights Council.
  • but India, Angola, Burkina Faso, Cameron, Congo, Hungary, Togo and Senegal abstained during the final voting.
  • Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, China, Bangladesh, Bahrain, Qatar, Somalia opposed the resolution.
  • India had also abstained during the 2016 vote on appointment of the Independent Expert.
  • The current Independent Expert is Victor Madrigal Borlioz of Costa Rica.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

twenty − 17 =