TNPSC Thervupettagam

Tribal Affairs Amendment Bill 2024

February 12 , 2024 131 days 267 0
  • Rajya Sabha passed the Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order Amendment Bill, 2024 and Constitution (Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes) Order Amendment Bill, 2024.
  • It cleared the way for the addition of several new communities to the Scheduled Tribes list of Odisha.
  • It also helps to inclusion of synonyms and phonetic variations of existing tribes in the ST lists of both Andhra Pradesh and Odisha.
  • Among the additions were notably seven Particularly Vulnerable Tribal Groups (PVTGs) (a subset of STs) - four in Odisha and three in Andhra Pradesh.
  • In Odisha, the PVTG communities added are
    • Pauri Bhuyan and Paudi Bhuyan as synonyms of the Bhuyan tribe;
    • The Chuktia Bhunjia as a synonym of the Bhunjia tribe;
    • The Bondo as a sub-tribe of the Bondo Poraja tribe; and
    • The Mankidia as a synonym for the Mankirdia tribe.
  • In Andhra Pradesh, the PVTG communities included were
    • Bondo Porja and Khond Porja as synonyms of the Porja tribe and
    • The Konda Savaras as a synonym for the Savaras tribe.

Leave a Reply

Your Comment is awaiting moderation.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *